Committee Chairpersons

2018-19 Committee Chairpersons

Johanna Newman, DNAP, CRNA (President)
Jose D. Castillo, III, PhD, MS, CRNA, ARNP (Vice-President)
Spencer R. Harvey, CRNA (Vice President)
Jeanne Antolchick, PhD, CRNA (Secretary/Treasure)
Erik Rauch, DNP, NSPM-C, DAAPM, CRNA (Past President)

Melissa Machan, DNP, CRNA, Co-Chair

Jeanne Antolchick, PhD, CRNA, Co-Chair
Karla Maldonado, DNAP, CRNA, Co-Chair

David Hidalgo, CRNA, Co-Chair
Erik Rauch, DNP, NSPM-C, DAAPM, CRNA, Co-Chair
Alison Smiley, CRNA, Co-Chair
Coalition Liasons - Johanna NewmanJose D. Castillo
Federal Political Director - Jorge Valdes
PACNA - David HidalgoAlison Smiley
State Reimbursement Specialist - Adam Boyd

Erik Rauch, DNP, NSPM-C, DAAPM, CRNA, Chair of Nominating
Jose D. Castillo, III, PhD, MS, CRNA, ARNP, Chair of Development

Steve Alves, Phd, CRNA, ARNP, FNAP, FAAN, Co-Chair
Jose D. Castillo, III, PhD, MS, CRNA, ARNP, Co-Chair
Spencer R. Harvey, CRNA, Co-Chair
State Peer Assistants - Debra DiazTomi Hanna

Michelle Canale, DNP, CRNA, Co-Chair
Jorge Valdes, DNP, CRNA, Co-Chair

Linda L. Wunder, PhD, CRNA

Debra Diaz, DNP, CRNA, ARNP


FANA Committee Descriptions

Executive Committee

The committee shall be composed of FANA’s elected officers (the President, Vice President, President-Elect, and Secretary-Treasurer).  The Immediate Past President and Association Manager shall serve on the Executive Committee as ex-officio, non-voting members. The primary focus of the Executive Committee is the corporate business of the Association. Corporate business includes an annual review of contracts for value received and quality of service, making recommendations to the Board of Directors if a change is recommended. 

Communications Committee

The committee shall execute appropriate communications to the membership through the web page, social media and other modes as needed. They develop materials intended to educate other health care professionals about CRNAs and conduct public relations campaigns of FANA.

Leadership Development & Nominating Committee

The committee shall identify and involve emerging leaders into the work of FANA.  It is accountable to encourage and engage active volunteer involvement as committee members or micro-volunteers, particularly from CRNAs who have not been involved in the work of FANA.  Additionally, in preparation for annual elections, the committee shall prepare and present a slate of qualified and vetted candidates for election who have the capacity and readiness to serve. This committee is chaired by the Immediate Past President.

Member Services Committee

This committee shall work to connect members with FANA through social activities and personal contact, optimize member engagement with FANA, and be responsible for member surveys to determine member satisfaction. This committee shall also be responsible for engaging with non-members and encouraging membership.

Program Committee

The committee is responsible for the preparation of programs for the two state meetings and online education offerings, subject to the approval of the Board of Directors. The committee shall incorporate sessions on well-being and, in consultation with the FANA Business Manager, shall select meeting sites. 

Government/Community Relations Committee

The committee shall work under the direction of the Board of Directors and in consultation with AANA Government Relations staff and the FANA lobbyist in matters pertaining to the specialty practice of nurse anesthesia. The Committee focus is on building the infrastructure for legislative success, participating in FANA’s legislative strategy, and planning CRNA Lobby Day at the Capitol.